99 schools from 28 states took part in the 37th contest and there were 701 participants. The maximum possible score was 70. The leading scores were (if anybody has any objections about putting these leading scores on the WEB, please inform the Contest Director immediately!)

Score Name
Institution State Major/Grad
69 Deng Calvin Harvard Univ MA Math 17
57 Stoner David W Harvard Univ MA Math 19
48 Brakensick Josh O Carnegie Mellon PA Math 18
46 Polansky Zachary H Univ of Rochester NY ? 19
45 Li Ray Carnegie Mellon PA Math 17
42 Narayanan Shyam S Harvard Univ MA ? 19
38 Xu Victor Z Carnegie Mellon PA CS 19
38 Farhangi Sohail Virginia Tech VA Math 16
35 Sanderson Abram D Harvey Mudd College CA Math/CS 17
35 Schwein David B Brown Univ RI Math 16
34 Li Bo Harvey Mudd College CA Math 16
34 Wu Evan J Carnegie Mellon PA CS 19
33 Gong Haidong Univ IL Urbana-Champaign IL Math 17
33 Li Yiefei Univ IL Urbana-Champaign IL Eng/Phys 16
31 Liang Qingzhong Univ of Michigan MI Math 17
31 Reddy Nikhil R NC School of Sci&Math NC HS
30 Haack Jordan D Harvey Mudd College CA Math/CS 19
30 Li Yuchen Univ IL Urbana-Champaign IL CS/Eng ?
30 Patke Mayank S Univ of Michigan MI Math/CS 17
30 Grebe Anthony V WUSL MO Math/Phys 16
30 Bonneville Philip B WUSL MO Math 17
30 Ge Daotong Univ WI Madison WI Math 19
29 Tran Minh T Williams College MA Math 18
29 Rubery Daniel J Univ of Rochester NY Math 17
29 Bahr Jackson C Carnegie Mellon PA Math 17
28 Akmal Shyan Harvey Mudd College CA CS/Math 19
28 Busis Adam R Harvey Mudd College CA ? 19
28 Mende David J Harvard Univ MA Math 17
28 Sun Hanqi Carnegie Mellon PA Math 18

The score distribution was
Score Range Number of Contestants
57 to 69 2
42 to 48 4
31 to 40 10
28 to 30 13
22 to 26 8
16 to 20 46
11 to 15 16
9 to 10 128
5 to 8 82
1 to 4 66
0 326

For more details, see all the scores ranked

The order of difficulty of the problems indicated by the scores, starting with the hardest, was 7,5,3,1,6,4,2.

As usual, several students failed to put their registration number on their solutions. Some of the solutions we could not assign to a student, in other cases we made a guess (so it is possible a students got points he/she never actually got). Also, some registration forms weren't filled out.

I'm grateful for help from Edgar Saenz, Jeremy Wong, Leonardo Mihalcea and Daniel Orr.

I would like to thank all the schools who took part, and I hope you will all take part again next year. I also hope that many schools who did not take part this year will take part next year. Watch these WEB pages; even if you do not get an invitation, we will still be delighted for you to take part provided you fill in the registration forms before the closing date for entries.

The most likely date for the contest next year is Saturday, October 22, 2016. Occasionally announcements about the competition will be posted in the Sci.Math newsgroup.